August 8, 2024
The Messthetics and James Brandon Lewis
Through collaboration and passionate investment, Ars Nova Workshop elevates the profile and expands the boundaries of jazz and contemporary music.

Join our newsletter.

What’s On
Thursday, June 20
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Brandon Woody UPENDO
Ars Nova Workshop presents Baltimore-born trumpeter Brandon Woody and his spirited ensemble UPENDO, at Solar Myth on Thursday, June 20, 2024.
Saturday, June 22
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Doug Carn Quintet
Tuesday, June 25
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Whitney Johnson & Lia Kohl / Jonah Parzen-Johnson
Thursday, June 27
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Michael Foster with Strings
Wednesday, July 3
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Sakina Abdou & Bill Nace
Sunday, July 14
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Emergency Group / Psychic Temple
Wednesday, July 17
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Chad Taylor Quintet
Saturday, July 27
8:00 PM
  • Performance
East Axis
Tuesday, July 30
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Beings
Thursday, August 8
8:00 PM
  • Performance
The Messthetics and James Brandon Lewis
Friday, August 9
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Magic Tuber Stringband
Tuesday, September 10
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Maria Chávez
Saturday, September 14
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Tashi Wada
Saturday, September 21
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Anna Webber’s Shimmer Wince
Sunday, September 22
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Sarah Davachi
Wednesday, October 2
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Weird of Mouth
Friday, October 4
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Ganavya
Tuesday, October 8
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Amaro Freitas
Sunday, October 27
8:00 PM
  • Performance
Glass Band / Angelo Outlaw

 

 

ReSounding Progressions — Ars Nova Workshop supports an intergenerational collaboration and interpretation of jazz poetry as musical composition.

News
January 9, 2024
Ars Nova at 2024 NYC Winter Jazzfest!
Hailed as “Philadelphia’s most reliable and ambitious presenter of new jazz and improvised music” by The Wire, Ars Nova Workshop (ANW) has connected creative music’s most exploratory and forward-looking artists with adventurous audiences in the City of Brotherly Love for more than…
October 14, 2022
A home of our own!
Ars Nova Workshop announces a new home venue located at the old Boot & Saddle bar in Philadelphia, and a partnership with Solar Myth, a new cafe and listening room slated to open at the location in November 2022.
March 8, 2022
Please Welcome Anthony Tidd!
Ars Nova Workshop is excited to announce Anthony Tidd as a new member of our team, joining us as Chief Creative Catalyst.
March 3, 2022
Dangerous Sounds with WRTI FM and JazzDanmark
WRTI celebrates the U.S. launch of the Dangerous Sounds podcast, with a series of live performances and a Philadelphia engagement presented by Ars Nova Workshop.
February 17, 2022
File Under Freedom
Milford Graves multi-layered interdisciplinary works are included in a new exhibition about improvisation in art and music at Bergen Kunsthall in Norway.
February 11, 2022
Ars Nova and Immanuel Wilkins on NPR’s Jazz Night in America
NPR'S Jazz Night in America was there to catch Immanuel Wilkins and his superbly intuitive band deliver a transcending performance at PhilaMOCA in January.
Shop
Milford Graves: A Mind-Body Deal Catalogue
$45
shop
The Warriors of the Wonderful Sound CD
$20
shop
Jeff Parker & The New Breed Poster
$20
shop

Ars Nova Workshop is a non-profit organization — which means that we need your support! Show your support with a donation today.