Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble
Friday, May 31
8:00 PM
  • Performance

Solar Myth
1131 S. Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA
Get Directions

Please join us at 6:45pm for a free pre-concert discussion with WRTI’s Nate Chinen and Nicole Mitchell.

This is a seated show.

Program Info

$40 General Admission
21 & Over


Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble

  • Nicole Mitchell – flute, composition, electronics
  • Mankwe Ndosi – vocals
  • Darius Jones – alto sax
  • Chris Williams – trumpet
  • Angelica Sanchez – piano
  • Teddy Rankin-Parker – cello
  • Luke Stewart – bass
  • Avreeayl Ra – drumset
Sponsored by

A component of the Doris Duke Jazz Ensembles Project, CMA’s Presenter Consortium for Jazz program is funded by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.

Ars Nova Workshop presents the award-winning flutist, composer and bandleader Nicole Mitchell with her exploratory Black Earth Ensemble at Solar Myth on Friday, May 31.

Nicole Mitchell emerged from Chicago’s innovative music scene in the late 90s and went on to become the first woman president of the influential Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM). Her Black Earth Ensemble is a musical celebration of the African American cultural legacy that embraces the ancient past and paints visions of a positive future. The music is the weaving of swing, blues, avant-garde jazz, bebop, African rhythms, Eastern modes and Western classical sounds. The name “Black Earth” was chosen to honor the feminine source that our lives depend on—Mother Earth. The ensemble will perform Mitchell’s stunning Xenogenesis Suite, inspired by Afrofuturist author Octavia Butler, which Chicago Reader called, “brooding and sometimes harrowing.”