Kris Davis & Lutosławski Quartet
The Solastalgia Suite
Friday, June 14
8:00 PM
  • Performance

Solar Myth
1131 S. Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA
Get Directions

This is a seated show.

Program Info

$30 General Admission
21 & Over


Lutosławski Quartet

  • Roksana Kwaśnikowska – violin 1
  • Marcin Markowicz – violin 2
  • Artur Rozmysłowicz – viola
  • Maciej Młodawski – cello

with special guest

  • Kris Davis – piano, composer
Sponsored by

Jazztopad Festival

The project is organized by the National Forum of Music in Wroclaw in partnership with the Polish Cultural Institute New York.

Ars Nova Workshop, in partnership with the Jazztopad Festival, is excited to present the Grammy–winning pianist Kris Davis with the World Premiere of a new work composed for the renowned Lutosławski Quartet, The Solastalgia Suite, at Solar Myth on Friday, June 14.

Kris Davis is a Grammy award–winning pianist and composer described by The New York Times as a beacon for “deciding where to hear jazz [in New York] on a given night.” Davis has released 24 recordings as a leader or co–leader and collaborated with artists such as Terri Lyne Carrington, Dave Holland, John Zorn, Craig Taborn, Ingrid Laubrock, Tyshawn Sorey and Esperanza Spalding. This special event will feature the World Premiere of Davis’ new composition for piano and string quartet, performed by the composer with the world–renowned Lutosławski Quartet. Named after the great 20th century Polish composer Witold Lutosławski, the ensemble was founded in 2007 and has collaborated with jazz artists like Vijay Iyer, Kenny Wheeler, John Taylor, Uri Caine, and Benoît Delbecq along with classical musicians including Garrick Ohlsson, Piotr Anderszewski, Kevin Kenner and Bruno Canino.