Void Patrol | Ars Nova Workshop
Menu Close Donate

Void Patrol

June 2, 2023

Ars Nova Workshop presents the Philadelphia debut of avant-supergroup Void Patrol, featuring Colin Stetson, Elliott Sharp, Billy Martin and Payton MacDonald.

Formed long-distance as a means of collaborating during lockdown, Void Patrol is a new all-star quartet that fuses elements of jazz, drone, and metal. Drawing on decades of experience with exploratory music, the members of the quartet – Colin Stetson (saxophones), Elliott Sharp (strings and electronics), Billy Martin (drums and percussion) and Payton MacDonald (keyboard percussion) – have collaborated with Arcade Fire, Medeski, Martin & Wood, Tom Waits, Alarm Will Sound, Jack DeJohnette, Oliver Lake, Iggy Pop and many more. MacDonald brought the quartet together, crafting music with just enough structure to shape their creative forces until their sonic waves burst out of the computer and into the cosmos. Its latest transcendent manifestation will arrive on the stage of Solar Myth on June 2.

Friday, June 2


  • Performance

Program Info

$25 General Admission
21 & Over


Void Patrol

  • Colin Stetson – saxophones
  • Elliott Sharp – guitar, electronics
  • Billy Martin – drums, percussion
  • Payton MacDonald – vibraphone, marimba


Solar Myth
Philadelphia, PA